top of page

DCF - Digital Competence Framework

Digital Competence Framework


Digital competence is one of 3 cross-curricular responsibilities, alongside literacy and numeracy. It focuses on developing digital skills which can be applied to a wide range of subjects and scenarios.

The Framework, has 4 strands of equal importance, each with a number of elements:

  • Citizenship – which includes:

    • Identity, image and reputation

    • Health and well-being

    • Digital rights, licensing and ownership

    • Online behaviour and cyberbullying.

  • Interacting and collaborating – which includes:

    • Communication

    • Collaboration

    • Storing and sharing.

  • Producing – which includes:

    • Planning, sourcing and searching

    • Creating

    • Evaluating and improving.

  • Data and computational thinking – which includes:

    • Problem solving and modelling

    • Data and information literacy.




bottom of page